What UVW mapping is, and how to save some time while doing i
Come here for tutorials and 3d training. The aim is to point out good 3d training sites or methods.

Moderators: Winterhawk99, Mermut, Bannor Bloodfist

Estelindis
ctp: Yes
dla: No
TBotR: No
nwnihof: Yes

What UVW mapping is, and how to save some time while doing i

Post by Estelindis »

I just made a small but useful discovery. :) You can save a UVW map and load it into another object! :D Allow me to explain this so that I can share this information with other people who are just starting modelling, like me. ;)

Two quick points before I begin:
  • I use GMax; I hope these methods and explanations make sense for 3dsMax users too. :D
  • I am including some basic explanations of the things that it took me forever to figure out, in case anyone else is a total beginner and frustrated by explanations that already assume you know a lot. ;) But if you already know how to UVW map, skip down to the last step, which is entitled "Saving and reloading a UVW Map"!
What's a UVW map?

A UVW map is a texture map that decides which bits of a texture an object uses and where it uses them. If you remember your geometry, a 3d object has x, y, and z axes, with x being for horizonal on the ground, y being for vertical on the ground, and z being up into the air. :p (Most of us have used those values if we wanted to shift a placeable around in NWN with the "adjust location" tool.) Well, when we're not talking about objects, but about the textures those objects use, we don't speak of x, y, and z anymore. Instead, x = u, y = v, and w = z. Any coordinate you give to determine which bit of a texture is used by an object thus has u, v, and w coordinates (though I have never made "w" anything but 0, what with textures being 2d :D). Anyway, that's why a texture map is called a UVW map. ;)

How do I modify a UVW map?